Hello!

My name is Christine Yau and I am a junior at Hunter College. I am currently studying Psychology with aspirations to minor in both, Chinese and Film. Upon graduating from Hunter College, I will return to school for the accelerated nursing program to obtain my Bachelors of Nursing (BSN). For my future career, I hope to either work as a military nurse or a pediatrics nurse.

“Feminism, New Media, and Health” is my first honors colloquia. Upon reading the course description for this class, I hoped that the topics discussed would ignite my interest and passion for the class. Since I am hoping to minor in film, the media aspect of the class is definitely a great interest to me. In addition, I foresee that my psychology major will also play a huge role in learning within the class as health can involve mental health. The issue could also be about the psychological effects of media on a person’s health.

My future career is nursing and therefore the medical field. I wish to learn about the health aspect of this class the most. How can new media affect one’s mental or physical health? How can new media spread people’s voice against a political debate on a person’s health? What is the feminist stand on certain health issues? These are one of the many questions that I hope this class would answer. By the semester’s end, I hope the three seemingly individual topics will be meshed together to form a single entity.

For “Feminism, New Media, and Health” as a whole, I wish to see how we will utilize the new age of technology to learn and gain knowledge of feminist ideas and views on health.  In addition to taking this class, I am also taking Health Psychology. Since these two classes are closely related, it will give me an even better understanding of what Health is as a whole.

Categories: All Posts | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Educating Eric

Wandering around aimlessly in circles until I hit a wall. Like a Roomba.

Tainan City Guide

an aimless guide to Tainan City, Taiwan

Just A Girl. With a Blog.

"That's just like the rules of Feminism" - Gretchen Weiners

A Blog of One's Own

*Hons 201: Feminism, New Media & Health

demeliou

To gain your own voice, you have to forget about having it heard.

kerishma.

Not Fair, but Lovely.

Not So Complete Zen

A fine WordPress.com site

Room for Change.

HONS201- Feminsm, New Media, and Health

girl behind the wheel

How equal is the equality?

Breaking Leia's Chains

A blog about Feminist Pop Culture

Not Self-Cloning

An asexual's musings on feminism and the internet

Women belong in the House.... and the Senate

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Nature of Women

Finding my feminist voice in a media centered world...

hons201 Christine Galotti

Inspired by Feminism, Health and New Media

Theory of Femininity

Assorted musings on feminism, new media, health, and you know, other stuff. For the purposes of Hunter College's Fall 2012 Honors 201 course.

